Pin It

Home » WPA » WPA Regions

WPA Regions

Regions of the New Deal

The assignment of districts in the New Deal art projects is very confusing and hard to decipher. WPA districts were different from IAP districts. Theater Project districts were different from Art Project districts. When the Illinois Art and Craft Project (IACP) was formed, the districts were also different. Chicago was in W.P.A. Region 10.

The Illinois Art Projectwas divided into the following subregions:

  • District 1 – the northwestern counties surrounding Rockford
  • District 2 – the satellite suburbs around Chicago
  • District 3 – the metropolitan Chicago area
  • District 4 – the middle counties above Springfield and surrounding Decatur
  • District 5 – the Springfield area
  • District 6 – the western counties surrounding and including East St. Louis
  • District 7 – southern Illinois from Harrisburg south to Cairo



The Theater Project Districts according to the Library of Congress American Memories website were:

  • New York City
  • New York State
  • New England Region: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
  • New Jersey – Pennsylvania
  • Ohio: Kentucky, Ohio, West Virginia
  • Virginia – Carolinas: North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia.
  • Southern Region: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee
  • Central Region: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin
  • Middle West Region: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota
  • Southwest Region: Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas
  • Northwest Region: Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming
  • Pacific Southwest: Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah
  • District of Columbia: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland.



War Manpower Commission Districts (1942)

  • Region 1, with jurisdiction over CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT (Regions 1 and 2 operated as a consolidated region)
  • Region 2, NY
  • Region 3, DE, NJ, PA
  • Region 4, DC, MD, NC, VA, WV
  • Region 5, KY, MI, OH
  • Region 6, IL, IN, WI
  • Region 7, AL, FL, GA, MS, SC, TN
  • Region 8, IA, MN, NE, ND, SD
  • Region 9, AR, KS, MO, OK
  • Region 10, LA, NM, TX
  • Region 11, CO, ID, MT, UT, WY
  • Region 12, AZ, CA, NV, OR, WA